Top this

28 Aug

Well, I hadn’t resolved my venue issue and I had been too sick to DIY anything for the several days. So what is a planning bride to do in this situation? The answer, dear friends, is clear. Buy a cake topper!

Now Mr. Lox and I had some cake topper drama, if you can imagine such a thing. I may not have been terrifically clear on this point, but we’re silly. I mean goofy and fun. We are both normal folks with 9-5 jobs, but if you look just under that? We are simply not normal. On some things we are traditional, which you’ll see as we get more into planning details. But on other things? We are…. well…. not. So enter the thought of the cake topper.

Once upon a time, I had a cake topper of two people. It was traditional, and expected, and came standard with our cake. I had no real feelings on cake toppers so that was that.

Traditional Topper

Something like this. Click for source.

That would not do for Mr. Lox and me. So enter Momma Lox. Now, you have yet to be introduced, I realize. So let me give you a quick synopsis here. Momma Lox is a devoted momma indeed. And she loves me with all of her heart. But if I’m silly? Momma Lox is bordering on looney. That is your only official warning. Because, you know, I can call my momma crazy, but you may not. Now you know. 😉 So Momma Lox enters the cake topper scene and has a grand idea. A vision even. She sees….. bobbleheads. But not just any bobbleheads. Bobbleheads that look just like us. On. My. Cake. And she became fixated. Determined. Single-mindedly chasing bobbleheads.

Bobblehead wedding couple

Seriously, just like this. Click for source.

Mr. Lox was horrified. I mean, he was stunned into silence and started making crazy “help me” eyes at me the night my mother suggested this. But poor Momma Lox was too excited to see them. Excited over the bobbleheads.

The fundamental problem was this: We had already chosen a cake topper. And what we chose lies somewhere between traditional wedding people, and crazy bobbleheads that look just like us. Ok, I have to admit… it’s a bit closer to the bobbleheads than it is to the other people. But it is also distinctly us. Silly, fun, and incorporates one of my favorite things in the world.

Love Monkeys

Yes, monkeys. Click for source.

Oh yes, monkeys. We will have funny little monkeys on the top of our cake. And somehow, this is perfect. Our wedding will be pretty, and somewhat traditional, and a celebration of us. And what celebration of us would be complete without a bit of whimsy and a couple of monkeys?

Do you have details in your wedding that show your personality? How about something silly that other people may not understand? Or what did you decide to put on top of your cake?

4 Responses to “Top this”

  1. every little kiss August 28, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    The monkey cake topper is so cute! We have no idea what will go on top of our cake..I kind of want a cute vintage topper, but I haven’t had any luck finding one that I like!

  2. lifeinwhite September 2, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    BOBBLEHEADS.

    aaaahahahahahahaha. I just mentioned them to Mr. Dear and he looked horrified.

    • Encore Bride September 2, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

      @everylittlekiss – I highly recommend Etsy. But then, that is my apparent solution to most things, so don’t mind me.

      @lifeinwhite – I seriously wish I could make this up. However, I would be remiss if I did not point out that she bought my ex and I the bobbleheads. Yes really. Not for our cake but just for display in our home. And bobble-me? Was a dead ringer for me. It was eerie.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My monkeys! « Down the Aisle Again - October 2, 2010

    […] Oct Yes, I know. I have talked and talked about this cake topper ad nauseum. However, the darn thing is in our apartment and I am […]

Leave a Reply

