Music Part 2 – We need professional help

15 Sep

Oh yes, yes we do. Now whether that help comes in the form of a DJ or straightjackets and padded rooms is debatable. But here’s how last night went down.

First of all, I was already at my wit’s end. We had been pricing out string trios and quartets for our ceremony and cocktail hour. They all turned out to be a complete budget buster. But in my determination to take care of this music stuff, I soldiered on. (This is not a problem, world peace is a problem!) And I found a DJ who is on our venue’s preferred list and also costs less for the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception than any string quartet did for just an hour and a half. So far so good.

So Mr. Lox and I went to meet with the DJ. He was all laid back and cool, and to be quite honest I think he was put off by my obsessive need to plan this. I mean, I arrived with a planning guide from his website and a list of questions. He spent the next 30 minutes trying to get me to calm down. The thing is, I was calm. I just really have a vision of the vibe I want this day to have and I need to make sure I’m going to get it.

Things were going quite well (aside from his face of horror each time I micromanaged another tiny detail) when it happened. We reached a point in the interview where I shared a secret desire for my wedding. I have searched high and low for the lady who gave me this idea, but I’m at a loss. I know it was one of the bloggers from Weddingbee. (I mean, I think. I cannot seem to find any evidence of the blog post that sparked my interest anymore.) Anyhow, I have become absolutely obsessed with having this song in my wedding ceremony.

I have searched high and low for this MP3 and I cannot find it. I was giving up hope. Nevermind the fact that Mr. Lox thought I was slightly daffy for wanting this in the first place and perhaps certifiable for being so fixated on it. Still, he mentioned it to the DJ. And what to my wondering ears should…. ummm… appear? HE HAS IT. Yes, it was exciting enough for all caps. I believe I squealed in the middle of a Starbucks. Loudly.

And so it is that Mr. Lox and I have decided to hire this DJ. And Mr. Lox has gracefully given in to me and has allowed the above song to be the very last song in our prelude, right before the processionals start. This is why I love this man. Muppets.

Did you ever fixate on one tiny detail of your wedding day? Or am I the only highly irrational and fixated bride out there? Commiserate with me!

3 Responses to “Music Part 2 – We need professional help”

  1. Kelly September 15, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Please aren’t we suppose to obsess about the details! When I told the DJ I wanted a classy, sophisticated feel in one breath and then asked if he had the Big Butt song in the other, Steven almost fell off his chair laughing… Real classy he said. But the DJ just smiled and said whatever you want, it is your day! That is another reason we hired him! So play the muppets or the chimpunks if it makes you happy!

    • Encore Bride September 15, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

      Oh, muppets do make me happy! Amusingly enough right after he told me he had it, he also told me he had tried to find it to no avail as well. It was a bride who sent it to him in the end. For her muppet-themed wedding.

      • Kelly September 16, 2010 at 7:32 am #

        That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

