Will you remember?

19 Sep

One of the most important things to us in this planning process is making memories that we can relive for a lifetime. Because of that we chose a great photographer (more on that another day) and we’re looking forward to all of the awesome photo spots that our venue now holds. We want to be able to look at these pictures with our children someday and have them see how magical it was for us.

One of the things we thought we didn’t need was video proof of the day. I mean, who ever watches those things right? They get tossed in a cabinet somewhere and forgotten. Right. That’s what we said.

But then I perused a ton of wedding boards where people say it was the best decision they made to hire a videographer. And those who didn’t say it s their biggest regret. And it’s not just one person, it’s TONS of people. So I started to waiver.

Then I see something awesome like this highlight video of Mrs. Dolphin’s wedding and I melt. Of course I would watch that! And I’d share it with people who couldn’t be there! And I could see the moment we got married over and over and over. I would always remember.

Mr. Lox is not thrilled with me right now. Because as badly as I’d like video, it’s really not in the budget. I mean, really it’s not. I tried bringing it up to him and he was definitely not receptive.

So tell me, how do you feel about hiring a videographer? Worth it or unnecessary expense? And if it’s worth it, anyone know of a cheap one in the Baltimore area?

6 Responses to “Will you remember?”

  1. jacin September 19, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    magically, i have a friend who does professional wedding photography and he is trying to expand his portfolio – so he offered to use us as his guinea pigs and he’s doing our videography FOR FREE!!!!!

    • Encore Bride September 19, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

      Color me completely jealous! 😉

  2. Kimberly September 19, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    Aweee thanks for featuring our wedding video! We actually did an exchange of services for our video. In exchange for Erika filming our wedding, we are building her a website for her business! I didn’t think videography was a big deal… until I saw our video. Watching it just brings me right back to that moment, right back to that day. I would have to say that videography may, quite possibly, be more important to me then photography. Erika is actually a really awesome deal too. She runs between $700-$1600 and is worth every cent. 🙂

    • Encore Bride September 19, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

      If I lived in Florida, I’d be pushing Mr. E even harder after seeing your highlights! Seriously, the highlights are beautiful… I can’t imagine how awesome the full length version is!

  3. Laura September 20, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    I really want a videographer. Our wedding is in February, and I’m hoping maybe in January we will magically have some extra cash and might be able to score a good last minute deal on someone. Since our wedding isn’t during peak season, it might happen!

    • Encore Bride September 20, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

      I hope it works out for you! I’ll be reading to see how it all goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

