Just call me Imelda

23 Sep

I love shoes. I could try to be coy about it, but that’s just not my nature. So there it is. Shoes. I love them.

My Closet

Oh how I love my closet. If only it were always this neat!

I present to you Exhibit A. This is a picture of my closet right after I moved in with Mr. E last year. Please take a moment to revel with me in the joy of a perfectly appointed closet. I know, this is a little weird. But I love my closet almost as much as shoes.

Right, shoes! Back on topic then. Look at the bottom of the closet underneath all the clothes. Please to be noting the giant stacks of shoe boxes over to the left. Please also direct your attention to the shoes on the floor on the right (and closer to the wall there is a two tiered rack) that are not in boxes. Yes, I love shoes that much. My nickname maybe should have been Ms. Imelda. Oh well, that ship already sailed. Back to the point… this picture was taken about 7 pairs of shoes ago, so imagine 7 more on the left side there. It’s like that.

Naturally, one of the first parts of my wedding ensemble that caught my attention were the shoes! I had some requirements. They had to be fun, with bonus points awarded for sparkles. They had to be super flatty flat flat flats since Mr. Lox and I are the same height and for some reason I am hyper-sensitive about looking taller than him in pictures. (Seriously, only in pictures. I don’t even care the rest of the time. I’m a freak.) And they had to be comfortable because I wanted to wear my super fun possibly sparkly comfy flats all night.

Now enter my personal shopper. Before we go further, don’t hate on me. I’m a plus-sized gal who gets overwhelmed when shopping and usually ends up in tears unless I’m buying shoes. (See, now it all makes sense…) So when I need to shop for, you know, stuff to actually cover the rest of me, I turn to my lovely personal shopper at Nordstrom. (It’s a free service. You just pay for clothes! And no, they are not paying me to write this.) She was helping me pick out the clothes for my engagement pictures when I saw them. The clouds parted and the sun shone down on my perfect sparkly flats. I couldn’t leave them behind.

The shoes

Oh hello, my lovelies! Click for source.

Just look at their sparkly gold super fun perfection! And flat? Oh yes… the sole is the absolute minimum thickness that a shoe sole can be and there is no hint of heel on these babies. They are perfect. And they are so so very me.

So there ends my tale of how and why I bought my shoes before my dress. Also I had this idea in my head that I had to have the right shoes on to get measured for my dress. Yes, now I know that is ridiculous unless you are doing a special hallow to hem measurement. I can, in fact, be taught.

What was your very first wedding day purchase?

All pictures courtesy of the one and only Miss Lox. Unless otherwise noted.

3 Responses to “Just call me Imelda”

  1. Laura September 23, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    I love those shoes! They are on my *maybe* list for the wedding 🙂

    • Encore Bride September 24, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

      I’m going to lure you to the dark side as my shoe twin! I shall mesmerize you with sparkles…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Something’s missing… « - December 10, 2010

    […] have talked about my dress, my shoes, my jewelry, my hair, and my flowers. Me me me… and that’s it. Anyone starting to catch […]

Leave a Reply

