It happened

19 Oct

Well, it happened. I mean, I didn’t think it would, but it did. Oh no, I thought I was such a cool laid back bride. And only smart cool people are coming to my wedding. That is the joy of a small affair later in life. It’s all cool and laid back and made of awesome. Until today, that is.

Today, a wedding guest lost her mind. See, it started when she got our STD (*snicker*) apparently. She promptly visited the website and signed our guestbook there. “We have saved the date, now we just need to find a room.” I may be all calm and stuff, but I know passive aggressive when I see it. And I know this woman… have for all of my life. I was frustrated. Before the STDs (*snort*) went out, I got a list of recommended places to stay from the B&B where the wedding is. (Theirs being at the top of the list, of course.) And I added said list to our wedding website to get the news out to our guests. So I was irked. But, you know, I just let it go. I’m cool, so that’s how I roll.

Super chill bride

See how chill she is? I can't even do yoga in sweatpants, let alone a gown. Click for source

Then my mother emailed her. And she responded. She was all upset because the inn had told her we had them all booked up for Sunday night and they were full on Saturday too. Both things were untrue, but that’s beside the point. My cool bride self is not going to point fingers. The wrong message was received.

Crazy Fun Guests

Oh how I wish she was acting this kind of crazy. Maybe she'll oblige on the day of? Click for source.

Cool bride me emailed my event coordinator and basically said “What gives?” Apparently they don’t release rooms on wedding nights for individual reservations until 3 months before the event. (PS – said guest said she knew that after the fact. I love it.) And after a few minutes of chatting, we had the situation handled. And we had a room for this guest.

Said guest is also annoyed that we changed venues. Apparently the new place isn’t as convenient for her. Whatevs.

Have you lost your bridal cool yet? Or have your guests gone categorically insane? Make me feel better.

4 Responses to “It happened”

  1. Cheryl October 19, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    Ughh. Seriously?

    If it’s such an inconvenience for you, don’t come. It’s not like you’re needed for the wedding to go on. Yeesh.

    Some guests are frustrating. This is one thing I do not look forward to haha.

  2. Laura October 20, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    We are 4 months away at this point and guests are starting to make reservations for the hotel. I’m getting about two phone calls per week about problems with our hotel block. It makes me want to lose my mind. I’m sure the hotel people think I’m a complete bridezilla, but they are incompetent. Apparently out block keeps “filling up” because they are only releasing 1-2 rooms at a time. Who does that?

  3. Kelly October 21, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Yikes, I didn’t even think about difficulties with the rooms that are blocked. Can I just hand off to my go to person? Oh yeah I can but that is me!

    • Encore Bride October 30, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

      @Cheryl – I know right? Unfortunately, we want them all to be there so we put up with it. You will too. 😉

      @Laura – I’m praying that won’t happen to me!

      @Kelly – Sad but true… there’s no one else to handle it!

Leave a Reply

