Bridal Shop Tour 2010 – I said yes!

2 Nov

Okay, so you all know where this is going so let’s cut to the chase. After Mrs. M and I had all of our fun and games, it was time to bring in the big guns. That’s right, I’m talking about my mother.

Wait a minute… I have to take care of something before we continue…

Go Away Mr. Lox!Much better. Now where we we?

Right. Momma Lox and I picked a date and it was time to take her back to the top picks. I called three of the places to make appointments (you’d never guess which three, believe me) but one place said the entire shop was closed because there was a show of some sort going on somewhere. I didn’t like the place much anyway (see, it was the last stop… you wouldn’t have thought that right?) so I took it as a sign from the wedding dress gods and I crossed that dress off my list.

And then there were three:

Francesca by Sophia Tolli

Sophia Tolli's Francesca - Click for source

Mikaella 1513

Mikaella's 1513 - Personal Photo

Maggie Sottero's Brittney

Maggie Sottero's Brittney - Personal Photo

As soon as my mother saw the dress I eventually chose, I knew it was all over.However, it was the second one I showed her, and we still had to go look at the third. And in my mind, I was sure I was going out today to buy that third dress. So while I stood in the third dress (which was in a different shop than the second) I started to get upset. I understood what Mom was telling me but I really wanted that third dress.

Momma Lox watched me starting to consider melting down. She said she wished the dresses were in the same shop so we could try them on one right after the other. That’s when it hit me! It was a stroke of genius. I am just that good. When I’m not melting down at least.

Momma Lox had a picture of me in the other dress on her iPhone. I made her quickly take one of me in the third dress and then flip between them. One finger swipe was all it took. I stuck my tongue out at my mother and told her I hated her. She feigned innocence and asked what we were going to do. I told her we were driving back to the other shop and buying her favorite dress. She was like a little kid on Christmas morning. She was that excited I’d taken her advice. She told people about this for easily a month after it was over. She even showed pictures to my hairdresser before I could.

I know, I know… so what did I pick, right? Right. I’ve held off long enough.

Mikaella 1513

Mikaella's 1513 - The winner!

So tell me, did I make the right choice?

3 Responses to “Bridal Shop Tour 2010 – I said yes!”

  1. Laura November 3, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    Love the dress! You DID make the right choice 🙂 I’m a huge fan of rouching (my dress has a similar top to yours)–it’s so flattering!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All that glitters « - November 22, 2010

    […] I thought we might talk about my wedding ensemble some more. We have discussed my shoes and my dress. And today I thought perhaps we could talk about my jewelry. This was like an epic journey for me. […]

  2. Something’s missing… « - December 10, 2010

    […] have talked about my dress, my shoes, my jewelry, my hair, and my flowers. Me me me… and that’s it. Anyone […]

Leave a Reply

