Petals and stuff

14 Nov

I literally just sat and stared at my screen for 5 minutes trying to come up with a witty title for this. Obviously, I failed. Moving on.

So a while ago, Mr. Lox and I drove up to the wedding venue and made what I think were the last of our initial vendor meetings. One was a brand new vendor selection for us. It was time for something I really wanted but had been intimidated to approach… the florist. I had a vision of a beautiful bouquet, and since we’re not having floral centerpieces and we have no bridal party, my bouquet is like our one flower splurge. So we wanted a bouquet for me, a boutonniere for Mr. Lox, and a petal aisle and petals for the centerpieces. (Okay okay, making them not *entirely* non-floral. I see that now.) Because I didn’t know what I was doing, I worked hard on this inspiration board.

Flower Inspiration Board

Most pictures found on projectwedding.com. Except the following:

Center picture from weddingbee.com message board thread. Top row center picture is taken by me of a centerpiece mockup I made.

The picture in the center is my dream bouquet. And it meant my heart was entirely set on lovely dark pink peonies. Not the cheapest flower. But the heart wants what it wants. So I took these pictures to the florist and she agreed that this is not going to be recreated without my beloved peonies. We talked about the bouquet and about Mr. Lox’s bout. And about the aisle and the tables. And after all of that, these are the flowers we’ll be using:

 

Dark pink peonies

Dark pink peonies - click for source

Orange tulips

Orange tulips - click for source

Orange roses

Orange roses - click for source

Yellow freesia

Yellow freesia - click for source

The orange roses were added in addition to the tulips because tulips can’t make a boutonniere and we wanted to tie the bouquet and the bout together. So Mr. Lox gets an orange rose instead. His bout will also have the yellow freesia.

Now let’s reflect on the bouquet in the middle of that inspiration board just one more time. Basically, my bouquet will look like that. It will be about 65% hot pink peonies, along with orange tulips, orange roses, and the yellow freesia in place of the light green flowers in the picture. There will be little to no greenery. And it will be hand tied with orange ribbon. Our aisle will be lined with pink and orange rose petals, and we will have extra to scatter on the tables as well. I’m so excited now!

Did you find the florist visit intimidating? What happened (or might happen) when you visited your own florist?

5 Responses to “Petals and stuff”

  1. Laura November 14, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    Very pretty flowers 🙂

    My visit with the florist was pretty entertaining.

    Me: I have no idea what I want, but I like purple and ivory, hate hydrangeas, and my budget is $2k for everything.

    Her: Okay, well what do you think about this, this, this, and this? And this for your bouquet? It will be just under your budget.

    Me: Uhhhh….sure? Sounds good.

    Yeah..I know nothing about flowers

  2. jacin November 14, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    looove peonies – i did a post on them last week. you have great choices!

  3. Kelly November 15, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    My visit to the florist went like this.
    me- “I love flowers”
    Her- “What type of flowers?”
    me- “Pretty ones”
    Do you see where I am going here, I was lucky that one of the florists I met with was able to pull from me what it was I wanted. I am thrilled. She really gets what I want. We are spending coveted $$ on flowers but to me it is a very important aspect of our garden wedding.

  4. Encore Bride November 29, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Laura – That was very nearly me. But then my inner control freak reared her head and massive research followed.

    Jacin – I saw that! They’re just so lovely. Your post amused me because all of your alternatives were flowers I looked at when I was afraid peonies wouldn’t be possible for us.

    Kelly – You must have found a good florist. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Something’s missing… « - December 10, 2010

    […] have talked about my dress, my shoes, my jewelry, my hair, and my flowers. Me me me… and that’s it. Anyone starting to catch […]

Leave a Reply

