How sweet it is!

16 Nov

While we were up by our venue, we got to do possibly the most fun thing ever in wedding planning. We got to go pick a cake. Sure sure, it sounds boring, until you realize that in order to pick a cake? You have to eat cake. Even Mr. Lox couldn’t pretend to not be excited about a cake tasting. What could be wrong with tasting cake?

This was made even more fun by the fact that the cake is included in our contract with the venue. So not only did we get to eat cake, but after the sickening number the florist had just given us, we didn’t have to look at another quote. Yay cake tasting!

First we sat down in the bakery and looked through their giant book of cake pictures. I felt this exercise was pointless as I already had a picture of our perfect cake.

Fun colorful cake

I totally gave this to our baker, just as I threatened to. Found on theknot.com. Click for source.

Of course that meant that Mr. Lox and I totally found a picture in the book that we thought was fantastic. Having trouble deciding, we decided to pull out our cake topper (which I had cleverly brought along and so should you!) and looked at it with both of the cake pictures. I even thought to capture a visual for you…

Cake pictures and our topper

Picture by moi. Topper is ours, cake picture on the left is the same as the picture above this one. Cake picture on the right is from our bakery.

Now come on… you see the monkeys are clearly perfect with only one of these cakes, right? I mean, it’s obvious… right? Well, okay. But it was to us. Mr. Lox, myself, and the cake lady made a unanimous decision. The cake absolutely must look like the picture I brought with us. It’s perfect! After that was all settled, we were able to start eating yummy cake.

Yummy cake samples

You'd have to be dead or allergic to gluten not to appreciate the sight of these scrumptious samples!

Now, let’s see if I can remember the flavors. Starting at 6 o’clock (just to the left of the fork there) and going clockwise we have: chocolate devil’s food with vanilla buttercream, lemon cake with lemon buttercream, plain devil’s food with vanilla buttercream, strawberry cake with vanilla buttercream, chocolate raspberry cake with vanilla buttercream, and almond cake with almond buttercream.

OMG the cake. You guys, it was delicious. No lie, Mr. Lox and I ate every. last. crumb. The cake lady just kind of stared in awe. In the end? The big hit was the almond cake with the almond buttercream. I am making a Homer Simpson like noise in my living room right now remembering it. The runner up? For the middle tier we will have strawberry cake with vanilla buttercream. Because just yum. Yum yum yum.

Right. So now I want cake.

Have you had your cake tasting yet? What did you pick? If you picked flavored cakes, do you worry some people will hate it? (I know, I know, I’m weird. I worry a lot. See earlier note regarding it being delicious to all who are alive and not allergic!)

All pictures taken by me unless other credit is properly noted.

2 Responses to “How sweet it is!”

  1. Leana November 23, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    I am so excited for our cake tasting! But it won’t be until March… 😦

    Love your inspiration pic and topper. I think it will all look amazing together!

    • Encore Bride November 29, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

      Cake testing is by far the most fun thing to do. Beware the sugar coma though! 😉

Leave a Reply

