All that glitters

22 Nov

Today I thought we might talk about my wedding ensemble some more. We have discussed my shoes and my dress. And today I thought perhaps we could talk about my jewelry. This was like an epic journey for me. I’d love to show you pictures of all of the contenders, but frankly I don’t think any of us have the patience for that many links. So instead I’ll show you what I got.

I would like to say that my task was a bit harder than I imagined. There are pretty sparkly things all over the interwebs. However, most of them have a silver tone to them. Because of the rich shade of ivory my dress will be, that just wasn’t workable. I had to have gold. And I hunted for a long time before finally settling on this really unique set. (Yes, set. Yes, I’m matchy. No, I’m not interested in a 12 step program. I kinda like it this way.)

The jewelry I ended up buying came from Etsy (of course), seller Jurgita Handmade.

Necklace and earrings

Necklace and earrings

Now seems like an excellent time to tell you that I find it extremely difficult to take a picture of myself in the mirror that shows off the jewelry well and also does not have a giant cell phone in the middle of it. I’ll assume I’m forgiven for the ridiculous pose above now that you have all of the facts. Also, is that not a stunning set of jewelry? I’m quite smitten!

Bracelet

Bracelet

(No, that isn’t dirt on my wrist. It’s just my birthmark.)

Full picture

A picture of the overall ensemble. Was unable to avoid the cell phone in the shot. Told you I suck at this!

I want to leave you with an affirmation of how much I love you. I changed my shirt and my hair just so you could have a realistic vision of how this might look with my dress on the big day. No really. I have evidence.

What I was actually wearing that day

This is what I looked like before I decided to have a little photo shoot. I do it all for you.

Have you decided on your jewelry yet? If so, where did you find it?

Clearly I am responsible for the pictures in this post. I’d hate for someone else to take the blame.

4 Responses to “All that glitters”

  1. Kelly November 23, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    I love the sparklys, I can’t wait to see it all together! I am searching now…

  2. Leana November 23, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    I’ve found the whole jewelry thing to be the most difficult! I want it to look good with the dress plus I want it to be something I’d actually want to wear again. Ultimately, I bought a simple pair of pearl earrings at a jewelry store in Vancouver, will be using a pearl pendant that was made at Disney World where I picked an oyster and got a pearl, plus a beautiful rhinestone and pearl bracelet from J Crew.

    I think your set looks beautiful!

  3. Encore Bride November 29, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I have no idea why jewelry was so hard for me. Maybe because I had no clue what I wanted?

    Kelly – I’d love to see what you end up with.

    Leana – That sounds really lovely!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Something’s missing… « - December 10, 2010

    […] have talked about my dress, my shoes, my jewelry, my hair, and my flowers. Me me me… and that’s it. Anyone starting to catch […]

Leave a Reply

