To veil or not to veil…

29 Nov

So, since I’ve talked about all the aspects of my attire that I will wear, let’s talk about what I’m not wearing I’m not wearing a veil.

That’s right, I’m not gonna do it. My hands are on my hips, my heels are dug in. There will not be a veil.

No veil!

Click for source. Slightly altered by me.

Now, most of you think “So what?” And if you’re one of those people? I hug you. So what indeed. I mean, I’m not getting all high and mighty and saying no one should wear a veil ever. In fact, quite the opposite. I think people should do whatever they want. If a veil fits into your bridal vision? Then I totally think you should wear one. If you’re super excited about wearing one? I’m super excited for you. Really, I truly am. And I know you’ll be beautiful.

So why then, is there this group of people who seem to think that it is some kind of bridal sin not to wear a veil? I mean honestly, I have been told that without a veil I won’t look at all like a bride. I mean…. really? Will there be some other gal in a fancy white dress exchanging vows up front with my man? No? Then I’m pretty sure I’ll look like the bride. I’m just sayin’. You may apply the same defense for people who wish to wear colored dresses, short dresses, or anything else unconventional that you’d like to add. You have my full permission.

Anyhow, I feel better having gotten that off of my chest. Or my head, as the case may be. Thanks for letting me have a moment there. 😉

Have you run into criticism of a “non-conventional” decision you’ve made? Let’s share!

2 Responses to “To veil or not to veil…”

  1. Kelly November 30, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    The fact that both myself and my groom have been married before seems to throw people off…they think us having a conventional wedding is unconventional. “Oh and you’re having a fancy wedding”. It makes me want to slap them… but that isn’t the polite thing to do, I just smile and know that the only thing that is important is that we have what we want. Not what anyone else thinks we should have.

    again you have been in my head… I think we may be long lost sisters… 🙂

  2. Encore Bride December 1, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    You crack me up. Of course I have the same issues. With it being my *ahem* third trip down the aisle, there are some raised eyebrows. I justify it by pointing out I eloped the second time, after all. 😉

Leave a Reply

