I need a hobby

2 Dec

We’ve been talking about attire for a while now. Are you tired of it yet? Yeah, me too. So let’s talk about something else. Let’s talk about hobbies!

What do hobbies have to do with wedding planning? Gosh, I’m so glad you asked me that. As I’ve said in the past, I am not a crafty person. Never have been. But with wedding planning, I have developed a sudden urge to make stuff. Some of it is to save money, but a lot of it is to make this day my own. While there are still a whole lot of things we will buy, I feel like the craft projects I’m taking on are making this day more personal to us. And I like that. So I guess it’s my thing now.

It’s also a lovely excuse to learn all about something I’ve always been curious about. Scrapbooking.

Paper crafts have proved to be my new favorite thing, so scrap booking is a natural progression for me. And since I’m really quite clueless, I’ve done what any clueless crafting wannabe does. That’s right folks, im taking a scrapbooking class!

I swear, this is wedding related. See, I’m starting off with a vacation scrapbook. But after I learn more, I’m going to apply my new-found knowledge to scrap booking the wedding and maybe even the honeymoon. And then I have this idea about a guestbook, but that’s a post for another day.

In the meantime, want to see my first layout?

My first scrapbok layout

These were taken on our trip to Seattle this summer at the Seattle Aquarium. Personal photo of personal photos.

Don’t laugh, it’s my first try. Here, let me distract you. Instead of mocking me, how about telling me if your wedding has inspired other projects in your own life?

2 Responses to “I need a hobby”

  1. Kelly December 3, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Your page looks great and I love the “Oceans of Fun” that is incredibly witty. When my son was a senior in High School, one of the other moms and I made srapbooks for all the senior hockey players. While the other mom was an experienced scrapbooker, I was a novice and just followed her lead. Bahhhhh (that’s a sheep noise) The books came out fantastic but I HATE scrapbooking almost as much as I hate camping. It is most certainly a labor of love and for a perfectionist like myself, not one I’ll be tackling anytime soon.
    My only hobby is cooking, I do it for relaxation and for the feeling of intense satisfaction when I can make a meal that is worthy of the best bistro.

  2. Encore Bride December 3, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    See, I’m a slapdash kinda gal so this is just fine with me. Please do not look too cloely at the photo mats. There is one picture there that is measured very precisely. However the others I just eyeballed until it looked good. That’s just how I am. And the idea of making our memories pretty makes me happy. Plus I like to play with paper. I’m really weird, but that’s ok.

Leave a Reply

