Scavenger Hunt!

6 Dec

Last we checked on it, my DIY list of projects was about 19 or 20 lines long. When I checked on it this weekend, I realized I’d left a few things off and made it 2 or 3 lines longer. Not much is crossed off of this list at all. So, knowing all of that what did I do this weekend?

Well, if you said I completed something and crossed it off the list, you’d be right. I mean sort of. I added it then I crossed it off. Hey, I have to get my satisfaction somewhere! I blame the lovely Mrs. Meerkat for posting this.

Of course, I promptly asked for the template, which she very promptly sent. Isn’t she nice? Yes, yes she is. But did I stop there? No, no I didn’t. The colors were already close enough to our wedding colors so I didnt touch those. But I just had to mat them up instead of leaving well enough alone.

Here is what I started with:

Project materials

I started with the template all printed out, wedding colored card stock, my paper trimmer, and my corner rounder. Not pictured is my sticky tab dispenser, but I totally used that too.

Then I used the paper trimmer to crop out the template and the corner rounder to well, round the corners. This is what I had left.

Template, all trimmed and cropped.

Template, all trimmed and cropped.

Next I mounted the template onto orange card stock. (See? I totally used those sticky tabs.) I learned this lovely lesson through scrapbooking class. (Totally wedding related. I knew it!) I adhered the template in one corner of the card stock and eyeballed a border which I hoped was mostly even on two sides. To help you visualize, it looked like this:

Template adhered to one corner of the card stock

If my borders aren't really even, just nod and smile. I'm not awesome enough to be a perfectionist so close enough is always good in my book.

Then I cropped the orange cardstock around the other two sides of the template and rounded those corners as well. Since I wanted to double mat in both of our wedding colors, I went for the pink card stock next. Again, I adhered the orange matted template into the upper left hand corner of the pink card stock in what I hoped was an even manner and cropped around the remaining two sides. One quick go round with the corner rounder and I had a final product like this:

Final product

Look at that final product in all of its double matted glory. Oooooh! Aaaaaah!

I made ten of these bad boys which should be more than enough to put one at each table in our reception. Half of them look exactly like the one pictured here, and the other half have the pink and orange reversed. Because it made me happy. The entire project took about an hour from the time I started printing the templates to the time I was totally done. There was extra time in there while I decided on how to mat and what would make me happiest. Then I gleefully added these to my DIY project list and crossed them off!

Did you add (and then finish) projects to your list instead of doing the things already on there? Or have you considered a photo scavenger hunt?

Thanks again to Mrs. Meerkat for the template. All photos in the post should be blamed on me.

2 Responses to “Scavenger Hunt!”

  1. Kelly December 7, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    I could totally do this…. Will you put out cameras for the tables as well or hope that your guests bring theirs….

    Can you send me the template…?

  2. Encore Bride December 8, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    I’m cheap. I’m hoping for guests to bring their own cameras and then upload these to a photosharing site that I’ll tell them about the day of.

    I’m checking on my permission to send the template. Will let you know as soon as I’m cleared, or not.

Leave a Reply

