The much awaited guestbook idea

8 Dec

Let’s finally get back to that guestbook idea I’ve been promising.

The bottom line with the fauxtobooth is that I can’t figure out a way to print on the spot. So there will be no fun favors for my guests and they will not be able to affix their faces to a giant book and write next to it. That was admittedly the original desire. But, you know, the rental thing didn’t fit in the budget so we are changing the plan to match our pocketbooks. And the new plan involves no photo printing and no giant book. So far we just have this:

Fauxtobooth Setup

The booth setup we have already discussed. A la Mrs. Pin Cushion. Click for source.

So, I bet you’re kind of wondering what it does entail? Well, ok. I’ve been stalling on purpose because I imagined this myself and I’m praying it is not stupid. I mean, it doesn’t seem stupid. But maybe it is, you know? Right, I’m stalling again.

So in addition to having their pictures taken, I will have a table near the fauxtobooth with blank slips of paper and something to place them in. I envision paper in different sizes, different shapes, and with different kinds of edges. Then people will write on the paper as if it were a guestbook and deposit their signed message into whatever receptacle I have there.  (I’d add a picture here but I have no clue what I’ll go for yet. A jar? A basket? A box? Something I haven’t yet envisioned? You have an idea?)

Yes, I recognize the *book* part is still missing. I’m about to tie it all together. After the wedding I will get prints of all of the fauxtobooth pictures. I will then pair them up with the signed messages. Then, wait for it, I will make a scrapbook (my new hobby is so totally wedding related!) of all of them combined. And we will have said scrapbook forever and ever. Hooray!

Since you’ve suffered through my insecurity and my probably not terrifically original idea (although I totally thought of it by myself), I offer you a gratuitous picture of my latest scrapbook layout. Because, as we have so definitively determined, it is sooooo wedding related.

Scrapbook Layout

I am in love with these pages. And can you see the pictures in there? Want to guess what they are? I promise it's a pretty easy one. 😉

So is this idea totally stupid? It’s really okay to tell me if it is. Really.

3 Responses to “The much awaited guestbook idea”

  1. Kelly December 9, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    I don’t think this idea is stupid at all. I think it is a great idea, just make sure that the instructions for your guests are clear or that you have someone to explain it to them for maximum fun results.

  2. Encore Bride December 9, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    That is line 16 on my DIY to do list. 😉

  3. Kelly December 9, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    I haven’t even started a list… it scares me…:-)

Leave a Reply

