Tiny Little Paper Balls

15 Dec

(It totally sounds dirty to me too.)

The good news about having ongoing wedding DIY projects is that I can talk about what we’re doing even when we’re very busy not doing it! Hooray all around, right? Right.

So way back in August, I talked about these cute little paper balls.It’s been a while… go ahead and look. I’ll wait.

Back now? Good. So Mr. Lox and I loved them. And I immediately thought of making garlands of them and putting little LED lights inside of them to make them glow. That was back when our wedding was going to be inside a restaurant. Now the wedding is going to be outdoor on a Sunday afternoon. So what does that mean? It means I can still have my garlands but I can save money by not putting the lights in them! Win!

So let’s see what I’ve done so far. Here is a tiny sample of some of the little paper balls I’ve made.

Little paper balls!

I mean come on, how cute are these?

Then I realized I had two problems. First of all they take up a lot of space and I need literally hundreds of these. Second, they are paper. Which means unless they’re stored carefully they will crush up and be useless. What on earth was I going to do?

(This is the part where you refrain from telling me that the tutorial I used totally tells you how to store and even ship them. Instead, you need to pretend I came up with this next idea all on my own.) Suddenly, I knew exactly what to do! Just don’t fluff them into little balls! Which leaves me with very storage friendly final products.

Storage friendly paper not-quite-balls

This is but a tiny selection of the paper I used. Who knew these could turn into adorable little teeny lantern things?

Now I have made about 130 of these things. Since August. Yep, that’s just the kind of slacker I am. I have no clue how many I need, but I think it’s way more than 130. I  intend to line the inside of the pavilion where our reception is being held with garlands on these little guys. So I’m thinking…. yeah, a ton more. Anyone want to come over and make tiny paper balls with me?

Tons of unfluffed balls

This is what roughly 130 of them look like in a plastic freezer bag.

Did you have any projects that ended up being much larger than you had originally thought?

All pictures in this post are courtesy of moi.

3 Responses to “Tiny Little Paper Balls”

  1. Kelly December 16, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    I would love to come over and help, especially if I could have a glass of wine while we were making these gems. They are so so sweet.

    • Encore Bride December 16, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

      I have no idea where you live, but if you are local to Baltimore you should be careful. I would totally invite you over to do just that! Plus, we have OODLES of wine in my apartment. For reals.

      • Kelly December 16, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

        I live in Massachusetts so you and your wine are safe…at least for now.

Leave a Reply

