A Hairy Dilemma

19 Dec

So last time I promised we’d talk about my wedding day hair plans. So here we are.

Very early in my wedding planning, I ran across a hair picture I feel in mad hairy love with. It was this one:

My Hair INspiration Picture

I have been in love with this since I first saw it. Click for source.

The thing is, the girl in the picture has straight straight hair. Her straight hair was curled and then styled to make this happen. So I always figured I would dry mine straight and then my stylist would curl it and make this happen.

Unfortunately, my stylist says it would be best to create something like this using my natural curl. she had some very good stylist type reason why straightening it then curling that was wrong. I usually just do whatever she says so I agreed. At first.

Except now I’m remembering how much I hate my curls. And Mr. Lox hates my curls. And so having curls on my wedding day is not my best idea. But also, I need my hair to be soft around my face. There’s nothing worse than a fat face and a severe hairdo!

So it is that I have no stinking idea what I’m going to do now. Any suggestions?

4 Responses to “A Hairy Dilemma”

  1. Kelly December 20, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    As a former hairdresser, and sister of a phenom colorist, my advice is to be honest with the stylist. If she is professional, she will listen to your concerns and address them. There is nothing wrong with asking her to complete a trial run of what she is thinking, nor is there anything wrond with being completely honest with yourself and her if you don’t like it. The stylist wants you to be happy, trust me. She will obsess for weeks if you aren’t.

  2. Kelly December 20, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Opps, Also I love you inspiration photo… my hair is a short bob right now. I am not sure which direction I’ll go for the wedding. I am really leaving it up to my favorite stylists, my sister and my daughter.

  3. Encore Bride December 21, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Oh I will tell her. I was just hoping I could find an inspiration photo that would match the straighter hair I want with a soft romantic updo that I’ll need to complete my look. I don’t want to hang her out to dry and come without pictures, and all of the pictures I already showed her are null and void now.

  4. Kelly December 21, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    I wish I had curly hair problems, but mine is straightish, and by that I mean it wings out where and when it wants to, but if I want it to wing out it lies there flat as a pancake.. UGH hair

Leave a Reply

