Ringing in the new year!

27 Dec

Today we shall be talking about rings. I will tell you in advance, that this is a topic which has brought me no end of stress. I know exactly (and I do mean *exactly*) what I want Mr. Lox to put on my finger. However Mr. Lox has really had no earthly idea of what I should be putting on his. Here is an actual conversation that took place just this month:

Me: We really should go wedding band shopping for you. Because it might not be easy seeing as you have no idea what you want.

Him: I know what I want.

Me: Yeah? What?

Him: No bling, white metal.

Me: You just described hundreds of rings. Is that the best you’ve got?

Him: *blink*

And so it was that we went shopping. All was going well for my pocketbook until Mr. Lox spotted men’s Tacori wedding bands. Did you know Tacori made wedding bands for men? I totally did NOT. But I knew what it meant for my pocketbook. And yet, there wasn’t a darn thing I could do about it. I’ve always promised Mr. Lox he could have whatever he wanted since this is the ring he will have to wear for the rest of his life. And this is the ring he ended up choosing:

Plain-ish white gold band

That doesn't look very fancy does it? It's white gold, brushed in the center with bezeled edges. I bet you're wondering what makes this Tacori, or even what makes it expensive at all?

Right, I know that seems unassuming. I know it does. But here’s a shot of the ring not on his finger. And no, my man does not have girly hands… I’m actually holding his ring here.

Detail shot of his ring

There's the famous Tacori detailing. If you look closely you will see a scalloped edge and the famous Tacori milgrain.

If you’re now scratching your head and pointing out that all the detailing is on the *inside* of this ring, you’re right. Yes, this means that while he’s wearing it, every day of his life, no one will have any idea how fancy and awesome his ring is. No, I did not point this out to him. He wanted it so he got it. End of story.

The ring in the pictures is actually the display model. We ordered a brand spanking new one just for him that will arrive about 5 weeks from the order date. Then I will probably hide it from him so he doesn’t wear through the rhodium plating by playing with it before the big day.

Did your man pick a detailed ring? How about an oddly expensive one? Or has your guy not yet decided what will be on his finger?

I get to blame all of these pictures on Mr. Lox. But they are personal nonetheless.

7 Responses to “Ringing in the new year!”

  1. Kelly December 27, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    Thank you for posting about this. I am having nightmares since my SO says the same nondescript comments regarding his ring. You give me hope that the search might not go so badly.

  2. Encore Bride December 28, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    If he’s anything like Mr. E, you just have to press the issue until he agrees to go shopping with you. And take him somewhere where you know there is a good sized selection. That’ll do the trick.

  3. Kelly December 29, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    SQEEE!!!!! Just met Miss Lox!!!!!Congrats

  4. Encore Bride December 29, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    I know, right? RIGHT? I’ve been bouncing off the walls over here! Check your email for proof. 😉

    • Kelly December 29, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      I am at work and those rat B#&*ards won’t let me look at my home e-mail. I will check first thing when I get home. OHHH my internet friend is famous!If I was there I would be jumping around squeeling with you. I would also hug you so tight. I am really excited for you!

  5. Leana December 29, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Ah yes, so far the FH has said he likes a very simple and very expensive ring from Tiffany’s. Considering my rings will both be from there I guess I can’t really argue. But I know what you mean!!

    • Encore Bride December 30, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

      Isn’t that a kicker? You’re right, there’s nothing you can do but buy it. That was what I did too.

Leave a Reply

