To do or not to do

30 Dec

So, with roughly four and a half months left until the wedding, I am starting that not-so-slow slide into panic over my To Do list. Actually, if I’m totally honest with you? I’ve been trying to avoid the panic by avoiding the list. Somehow I think this is not the best of strategies.

So today, I am getting real with myself. And apparently in order to have this little moment with myself, I need to be accountable to the hive. And so it goes. Remember this little guy?

DIY To Do List

It looks so sweet and innocent here... You can click on that to see it larger and appreciate the full on horror of it.

Right. That’s just a giant pile of uh-oh at four and a half months out. Hive, how did I let this happen?

To be fair, a few things have changed. I have completed close to 150 of the mini paper lanterns. The STD envelopes are totally finished and have already reached their final destinations. And I added and then completed the photo hunt cards. Unfortunately, I also added the photo sharing cards and the table numbers.

The rest? Looks exactly the same. And some of those things I don’t even have good ideas for! For example, I was dead set on making coffee filter roses to give to our mothers. That way they could keep the flowers we hand them forever and ever. And to be honest, I totally sat down and made little templates for all of the petals and then did two trial runs. And, well, they were okay. Just okay.

All of this is to say that I’m starting to feel overwhelmed. I’m sure there must be a few shortcuts I can take in there somewhere, but I’ll be darned if I’ve figured out where yet! Anyone out there have some awesome ideas to dig me out of this ever-growing DIY hole I’m in?

Has your To Do list ever overwhelmed you? If so, how did you handle it? And if not, how did you keep that from happening?

3 Responses to “To do or not to do”

  1. Kelly December 30, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Like you I avoid the list as a way to deal with everything that needs to be done. I fear it isn’t very effective since I then have nightmares of a 1/2 assed wedding were nothing is complete. I am looking forward to hearing suggestions on how to tame the beast. Other than dropping all the DIY’s…

  2. Encore Bride December 30, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Oh my, I probably will have jack all for suggestions. Typically I worry and panic until it’s all over. Not very productive, but that’s the truth!

    (PS – Did you get my email and attachment?)

    • Kelly December 30, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

      I did thank you. I met a friend for dinner last night and didn’t open e-mail until around 10PM. I was able to futz around with the template this morning for a bit. I wish we had a papersource close by, but alas no luck. I’ll try to hit up Michaels this weekend for paper. THanks so much.

      PS Have you ever been to Alewife Baltimore? I am jealous you might be close enough to go…..

Leave a Reply

