You could already be a winner!

4 Jan

Hive, I have had a revelation! Ummm… but before we get to that, let me set it up for you.

Lately in my inbox, I’ve been getting these contest announcements for a free wedding. Awesome right? Right. I remember when I used to enter every single one of these. I would have taken a free wedding anywhere from anyone. And especially with how tight our budget is, a free wedding is kind of like a gift from above, right?

Well, maybe. Then I start thinking about all of the deposits that we’ve made. I mean, we’d lose those. So now it’s not actually free, see? It’s free plus the lost deposit money. But that’s the only downside, right?

Well, sort of. But what does the free wedding entail? I mean, I really love my dress. Are they going to replace it? Will I have a say? Some of those contests were ones where other people got to vote on and decide your wedding details for you. That’s when I started to draw a line. Those went right into the trash. Type-A brides do NOT give up control. Seriously. Honestly? That nixed most of them.

Well, now that I’ve started throwing things away, let’s take a closer look at the rest then. Now we’re down to winning individual elements mostly. Win a photography package? Yeah but I am really pleased with the photographer I booked. Win a free venue? But, ours is perfect for us and we’re so excited about it. Win a dress? With my body issues? no way Jose. Wait… what’s left?

Nothing. I threw every single contest email out. And that’s when I realized why. I’m in love with our wedding! I put blood, sweat, tears, and money into all of our decisions. I don’t want to change a vendor. I don’t want to change the look. I don’t want to change anything. Mr. Lox and I handpicked all of these things for a reason. Why would we change anything now?

The answer is that we won’t. And I couldn’t be happier. But what about you? Would you consider a wedding as a contest prize? Why or why not?

2 Responses to “You could already be a winner!”

  1. Kelly January 6, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Not that I couldn’t use a prize right about now… but I always find the rules and regulations intimidating. I did put my name in every prize bucket at a recent bridal show, all I got for my troubles was a bunch of calls for services that I am not even planning on using. Limos anyone? If I had won however they would have been incorporated. I’m lucky in love, I can’t be lucky everywhere.

    • Encore Bride January 14, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

      I didn’t even think of the rules and regulations. Good point! 🙂

Leave a Reply

