Who gives this woman?

14 Jan

Let’s take a walk on the serious side today. And talk about… well… walking. Specifically who will walk me down the aisle.

First, a history lesson. In wedding #1, my father walked me down the aisle. He wore a tux and we did it all the traditional way. For wedding #2, we had a “weddingmoon” at Sandals, so it was just the two of us. I walked on the beach to meet my groom alone. Which was no big deal since no one was watching.

So it would seem that this time, I have my choice of whatever I’d like to do, right? Well, sort of. Except not really. Between wedding #1 and here in the present day, my father and I have become estranged. I know the hive isn’t really interested in all my drama llama family issues.

 

Hello my name is Alex... and I am a DRAMA LLAMA.

And no, my name is NOT Alex. Click for source.

 

Did someone say drama llama? Okay sorry, back to the point. My father and I are estranged. We haven’t spoken in a year and a half and I’m not inviting him to the wedding. So that’s right out. Normally it would be no big deal. I loved my step-father very much and would have been honored to have him walk me down the aisle. He would have loved it too. But he is no longer with us.

So as I thought about it, I thought about what it traditionally means to have someone walk you down the aisle. And here’s the thing. I’m sure I could have asked Momma Lox and she would have been thrilled. But it just doesn’t fit anymore. I’m 33 years old and I’m a fully independent woman. If anything, I’m at that age where we become more of a caretaker for our parents instead of the other way around. And if I’m totally honest with myself, only I can give myself away.

And so I will. I will walk down the aisle alone. Just me, myself, and I. I have doubted this decision and re-made it over and over again. But it still comes back to the same thing.I am entering this marriage on my own, the same way I’ve been doing things for many years now. And I will meet my man at the end of the aisle on my own steam. I will not rush. I will not fall down. I will probably cry. But I can do this. I mean, I think.

Has anyone else decided to brave the aisle alone? How about married ladies who walked alone, did you survive?

Leave a Reply

