Now *this* is a pomander

16 Jan

I get it, the flower balls are technically pomanders too. But I just can’t bring myself to call them that because I am also making these beauties. I am not the first bee to make these, from the same tutorial no less. I did however take a shortcut Miss Elephant did not. But I’m getting ahead of myself. First, my tutorial!

Honestly, Miss Elephant and I used the same tutorial from the same bride to get ourselves going. What are the odds, right? Here’s the original.

So here’s the deal. Not to cop out or anything… but I can’t really say it better than it’s already been said. So my tutorial is one step. Follow that link. Lame? Probably. But why re-invent the wheel?

Now to the shortcut. When I found all of this information, I wasn’t yet sure I could DIY anything at all. Obviously I have since proven I am able. But this was at the beginning of my planning and I didn’t trust myself. Also, Mrs. Dudley’s wedding was over and she was ready to offload her hard work. See where this is going? No? Okay. I actually bought her pomanders.

When they came, my Type A self realized I could never fluff them enough to make myself happy. It was no one’s fault and I wasn’t upset. Instead, I left the ribbon that was already in place on them, and I pulled the flowers out and made new ones from scratch. For the record, I cut pieces that were 3″x4″ and used five pieces per flower.

And what was the finished product? Well, this:

Finished Pomander

So now, whether you realize it or not, you have seen almost all of the components of our centerpieces. Sit tight and I will (finally) show them to you! I mean, if you promise not to point and laugh that is.

Did you buy any parts of your decor from another bride?

3 Responses to “Now *this* is a pomander”

  1. mrscummingsrx January 17, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    Very pretty! Did most of mine from scratch but hand-me-downs are the way to go! Fun colors, good luck missy!

  2. Kelly January 17, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    This is cute! I haven’t bought any hand me downs. I have tried a few times but nothing has ever been cemented. I’ll keep trying.

  3. Encore Bride January 19, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    I could have done it from scratch which I know now. But it helped me gain momentum so it was worth it in my eyes. And if I hadn’t gotten the boost, I probably would have been too intimidated to ever try!

Leave a Reply

