Honey, where shall we moon? – Part 1

26 Jan

Today I’m going to tell you a story about just one way in which the hive has changed our wedding. But first, a basic truth about Mr. Lox and I. We have really different vacation styles. Like, really different. As in, I told him about a year ago that I really wanted to go on a cruise. In my mind, I was picturing laying by a pool, unlimited food, and fun excursions like snorkeling. Mr. Lox did not see cruises that way. He got excited and sent me links to all of these cruises. To the Galapagos Islands and other very nature-heavy destinations. His cruises were on small ships with nature lectures every night. I almost cried.

Now, we have been able to work with it so far. We have found ways to take his radical vacation ideas and morph them into something I will enjoy too. For instance, when we went to San Juan Island this past summer, Mr. Lox wanted to go kayaking. I, on the other hand, have the upper body strength of a small insect. Kayaking sounds like my idea of torture. Solution? Whale watching. We were on the water and doing something nature-related. However, it wasn’t a highly physical activity and I wasn’t bored. Compromise is good.

But if I’m 100% honest with you, I would tell you that usually vacations go a little more his way and a little less mine. And for our honeymoon, I really wanted something that would allow us to concentrate on each other in a relaxed non-action-packed environment. I also wanted to go somewhere new and that would probably require a passport. And I was dead set on a pool and maybe some snorkeling. And for once, Mr. Lox must have decided to let me have it my way.

I was looking all-inclusive and that to me meant Sandals. That’s why I saw Mrs. Seashell’s honeymoon recaps. I was sold! I immediately found a travel agent that dealt with the Palace Resorts properties and filed booking our honeymoon into my to do list.

Perfect, right? Except we have booked our honeymoon and it won’t be there. But I’ll get to that in my next post. 🙂

Did your ideas about your honeymoon change over time? What influenced you?

3 Responses to “Honey, where shall we moon? – Part 1”

  1. Kelly January 27, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I made a spreadheet 🙂 for a list of honeymoons we were intersted in, there was everything from a Mexican Resort to a Blue Ridge Mountain motorcycle tour. Steven loved that I took the time to lay it all out in a logical manner (thanks to Excel) We were able to then narrow it down based on what was important to us and what it was we wanted to do. We finally pulled the trigger and booked yesterday! So now if all else blows up, at least we know we will have a fantastic vacation.
    (See you aren’t the only one with a strange Type A attraction to Excel)

  2. Miss Lox January 27, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Oh hon, want to know the truth? I had a spreadsheet too. But I turned it over to Mr. Lox and he botched it all up so I abandoned it. Alas poor spreadsheet, I hardly knew ye! 😉

    • Kelly January 27, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

      total sad face 😦 I can appreciate the spreadsheet and grieve for your loss.

Leave a Reply

