Wanna peek?

5 Feb

This was actually one of the few things Mr. Lox had a firm opinion on when we started our wedding planning. Our photographers asked about a first look and Mr. Lox was all confused, he’d never heard it before. Chad said we could get back to him so I waited until we got home to explain the concept of a first look to Mr. Lox. After he understood, he put his brunchy foot down with a firm no. On the inside, I was a little disappointed. But because he had such a firm reaction, I didn’t try to sway him either way. I accepted his opinion and moved on. For what it’s worth, that was last July. And the concept of first looks has just now resurfaced.

I don’t know how it came up, but we were talking about our cocktail hour recently. (Wait, I do remember how. I was expressing my eternal love for scallops. But that is a story for another day. Back to the topic.) I pointed out we wouldn’t be getting the appetizers we’ve chosen for our cocktail hour because we’d likely be taking pictures for the majority if not all of that time. Mr. Lox seemed surprised. I told him that was the only time we’d have for it since we wouldn’t be seeing each other before the ceremony. He blinked. Then he said maybe we could see each other. I reminded him that the moment of me coming down the aisle was important to him. He told me he might be reconsidering that.

So when we got home, I offered to show him some first looks I’ve loved. Such as this one from Mrs. Poodle…

 

Mrs. Poodle's First Look

Click for source

 

Or Mrs. Fro Yo’s lovely moment…

 

Mrs. Fro Yo's First Look

Click for source

 

Or how about the gorgeous Dolphins…

 

Mrs. Dolphin's First Look

Click for source

 

After seeing these three couples and their beautifully documented moments, Mr. Lox was fully sold. And that is how we came to agree on having a first look. I’m so excited!

For what it’s worth, I would not have pressed Mr. Lox on this issue. I do respect that some things will be important to him and it’s important to me that he gets what he wants from this day. The man well and truly changed his mind between July and now. Am I thrilled? Yes. But did I bring it up and try to change his mind at any point? No. This one was just a happy happy accident.

Has your other half changed their mind on something like this? Was the end result happy for you?

2 Responses to “Wanna peek?”

  1. Leana February 6, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Wow, that sounds almost exactly like what happened with FH and I. He wanted that special moment when he saw me coming down the aisle. But ultimately he decided that it would be better to spend some of our cocktail hour with our guests instead of just taking photos the whole time. I think our photographer helped to convince him, but I wasn’t going to press the issue. I’m happy he decided to do a first look though!

  2. Miss Lox February 8, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Hooray for the changing of minds! Like you I never would have said another word, but that doesn’t mean I’m not thrilled he changed his mind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

