Just visiting

16 Feb

So a couple of weeks ago, I got the call. The fateful call where the woman you haven’t seen for 9 months (in my case) contacts you out of the blue. The call to say my dress was in.

Go Away Mr. Lox!

What’s funny is that I totally didn’t see what happened next coming. You’d think I would have but I didn’t The dress coming in is exciting right? I mean, I finally would be able to go and try on this thing I shopped so hard for last year. It’s my dress!

I bet you know what happened next. I panicked. Oh yes, I became completely obsessed with what could happen. I’ve lost weight… what if the dress is so big it just falls off of me? (After 11 pounds? Really? A bride’s mind is not always a sane mind.) Or worse! What if it won’t zip up at all. I mean, what if I paid extra for the big girl size and the things still won’t zip up? Will I have to crash diet? Can it be let out? Panic at the disco!

Well dearest hive, I’m here to tell you none of those things happened. It zipped up easily and stayed where it belonged. There is a little bit of room in it and it needs alterations, but it is just fine. Everything is going to be fine.

What’s that you say? How did it look? Yes, of course I took pictures! 😉

Me in my dress!

So down the business now. The top of the dress is hitting too high on me so I’ll have to have it cut down a bit. Also, I’ll be getting an extra crinoline because it’s not fluffy enough for me. And by the time I hit my first fitting (Scheduled for next month! How time flies!) it will definitely need to be taken in more. And yes, it’s too long… I’m standing on a pedestal in that picture.

But seriously? It’s going to be okay. And now I have my very own non sample dress! It’s all starting to feel so real.

Did you panic over the thought of trying on your dress for the first time, or am I just that much weirder than I thought? 😉

3 Responses to “Just visiting”

  1. Kelly February 16, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    You look beautiful! The unthinkable happened to me last month, the dress was in, and I went to try it on. I haven’t lost or gained any weight since I ordered it but was nervous it wouldn’t fit and guess what… it didn’t. Since the salon picked the size I needed to order, they were very gracious to my I WILL NOT STARVE MYSELF to fit into any clothes hissy fit. On my wedding day I want to be comfortable not self conscience. So they are ordering it in the next size. It should be in in May… I am glad I ordered early and that they were willing to work with me on the return for a larger size…

    okay I didn’t have a fit but I did tell my daughter before we went into the salon that if it didn’t fit I would throw myslef on the floor bridezilla style. I think she was dissappointed that I didn’t.

    Congrats to you and your fantastic dress!

  2. Miss Lox February 16, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Oh no Kelly! I’m so glad you didn’t tell me this *before* I went to visit my dress. That is absolutely the unthinkable. I’m fairly certain I would have burst out crying if I had been in your place! Congrats on being way cooler than me. 😉

    • Kelly February 17, 2011 at 7:02 am #

      Yes, you would have been disappointed but I have a saying “Never cry over something that won’t cry over you”. So even though the dress didn’t fit and I was disappointed, my wedding isn’t until August so need to freak out. I can’t say that if the dress isn’t right in May I won’t have a minor melt down. We’ll see, I am surprisingly calm as things are starting to come together.

Leave a Reply

