Mom’s turn to shine

17 Feb

When I went to the dress shop to visit my real wedding dress, I wasn’t the only one on the first date with a gown. Momma Lox had ordered her dress at the same time I ordered mine. After some confusion over color, her dress arrived well in advance of mine and has been sitting in the shop waiting for her to come and say hello.

Go Away Mr. Lox!

So while I got into my dress and then admired myself in the mirror on the pedestal, Momma Lox went into the dressing room and got changed as well! I have to admit, I was so excited about being in my own dress that I didn’t have a ton of anticipation built up about hers. But then she came out and she looked like this!

Momma Lox all dressed up!Now, poor Momma Lox really had a hard time over this dress. She ordered it the same day I ordered mine and the color she had chosen was a dusky turquoise. She wanted to match with the wedding, but let’s face it, pale freckley red-haired Irish women do not look hot in bright pink and bright orange. Yellow is also a non-starter. She worried over this but I told her that it didn’t matter to me what color she wore or what kind of dress she chose. The most important thing was that she felt good in whatever she decided. So she was done. Or so we thought.

A week after she placed her order, the shop called her up. They had made a mistake. The color she selected wasn’t actually available for that dress. Mom let the consultant talk her into a light blue sight unseen. And then she proceeded to worry about the color. And to make matters worse, her dress was in months before mine and she waited for me!

To make matters worse, the dress was too large for her in the bust area. In that picture, the consultant is standing behind her holding the dress so it looks right. Now obviously, the seamstress is going to fix that right up. And Momma Lox will feel much better when she does.

But with that all out of the way, doesn’t Momma Lox look beautiful in her dress? I really think so. Here’s one more picture for good measure.

Momma Lox and Me(My mother is not actually a wee person. I’m standing on the pedestal in this picture and she isn’t!)

What is your mother wearing to your wedding?

3 Responses to “Mom’s turn to shine”

  1. Leana February 17, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    You guys look so cute together! My mom is making her own dress, but I’ll be going shopping with my future mother in law to help her pick out a dress. Hopefully we can find something nice!

  2. Kelly February 18, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    You both look so happy. My mom and I are struggling to find her a dress…. but we keep looking. Can you tell me what the MOG is wearing? I am struggling with that as well.

  3. Miss Lox February 18, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    @Leana – I think it’s so cool your mother is making her own dress! At least you know she’ll love what she wears.

    @Kelly – I wish I could tell you what the MOG is wearing. However she’s in Seattle and I’m not. And to make matters worse, she doesn’t use email so I can’t send her a picture of my mother’s dress to help. I’m really worried about how this is going to play out.

Leave a Reply

