Sealing the promise

31 Mar

When we first met our officiant, of course she really put us at ease and we felt we had connected with her. That’s why we hired her. Well, that and the fact that she came up with some great ceremony ideas that we had never heard of before. One of them was our stone ceremony, which we promptly fell in love with. But that wasn’t her only idea of the day.

One of the things she asked us was if we wanted to incorporate my engagement ring into our ceremony. Now at the time I had never heard of that being done. For what it’s worth, I also hadn’t gotten fully consumed by wedding blog land yet either, so there you have it. But it was new to me so that was pretty cool!

So what does that mean? So glad you asked. It means that I will go down the aisle with zero rings on my finger. Right hand, left hand…. no rings. You get it. After we do the exchange of the wedding bands, our officiant will say something like this:

As wedding rings are symbols of marriage, an engagement ring is a symbol of promise and intent.Ā  Now that the intention is realized and the promise fulfilled, Mr. Lox will place the engagement ring above the wedding band to symbolize that the love which brought them together will always protect and sustain their marriage.

My engagement ring

(Let’s just pretend that is not actually an abysmal picture of my ring. I mean, my camera doesn’t have a macro setting so I always have to take these on my cell phone. And also, I’m not good at this. )

I like the idea that my engagement ring is no longer just the ring we picked out together. I mean, it was always more than that. But saying it and incorporating it into our wedding ceremony makes it even more special to me. And I love that it can share equal billing on our big day.

Also, just for the record, it doesn’t fit very well on my right hand. šŸ˜‰

Are you incorporating anything special into your ceremony?

One Response to “Sealing the promise”

  1. Cheryl March 31, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    THANK YOU for posting this! I had read a way to incorporate the engagement ring and loved it, but then I lost it.

    Now I have one again! Merci šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

