My Favorite Part of Wedding Planning

31 May

So, now that the planning stage is over, I am totally qualified to tell you about my favorite part of the planning process. And it might surprise you… at least I know it surprised me.

One of the things Mr. Lox and I decided to do a long time ago was to take dance lessons before the wedding. But then, as wedding planning kicked into high gear, neither of us could really find the time to research and find a place to take lessons. I was surprised to learn that it’s not as easy to find good dance lessons as I thought it would be. But then, it was Groupon to the rescue. We found a Groupon for a Ballroom Blitz class. It was four weeks long with a different dance being taught each week. We figured we could decide which one of the four would be right for our song and then we’d be set.

After the third group lesson, we realized that a class like that wouldn’t cut the mustard for what we really wanted. It was fun, and I’m totally glad we did it (would do it again in a heartbeat) but we needed private instruction. So, just a handful of weeks before the wedding, we went for a package of 10 private dance lessons with Beginning Ballroom. And hive, this was the best wedding planning decision we made.

The obvious benefit was a confident and nice looking first dance. You all get that. But it had another, even greater, hidden benefit. For those 10 hours, all Mr. Lox and I had to do was concentrate on each other. There were no vendors to handle. There were no crafty projects to wrangle. We weren’t researching ideas or sweating over details. For those 10 hours, we were concentrating solely on each other. And we had fun. Those lessons turned into dates for us. We laughed, we touched, we were close to each other. They were stress relief and dates all rolled into one. So yeah, our first dance was pretty sweet. No hug and sway for us. But those dance lessons, they reminded us of why we were doing this whole wedding thing in the first place.

Now, as a prize for listening to me gush, here is a video of us from one of our last dance lessons. I was wearing my crinoline so we could have a realistic idea of how much space Mr. Lox needed to give me and he could learn not to step all over my dress. Or, you know, you can imagine it was my version of a fashion statement and laugh at me. Either or. 😉

Personal video – Mr. Lox and I taking dance lessons at the Beginning Ballroom studio.

Aren’t we cute? We really did enjoy these lessons and I can’t stress to you enough how beneficial they were. Mr. Lox and I are considering going back to continue taking lessons just because we had so much fun. And hey, everyone needs date night.

So what was/is your favorite part of wedding planning?

5 Responses to “My Favorite Part of Wedding Planning”

  1. Leana May 31, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Is that Moulin Rouge in the background? I love it! You guys look great on the dancefloor.

  2. Cheryl May 31, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    I absolutely love how the crinoline just makes you look like you’re gliding! So cute!

  3. Kelly June 8, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    Where are you? I miss you.

    • Miss Lox June 8, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

      Kelly – I just realized that I lost some of the pictures I was going to use to post about things and am waiting on the po pics so I can grab things from there. Go me. They should be in this week though.

      • Kelly June 9, 2011 at 7:54 am #

        I can’t wait! You are right go you! 58 days for me… Yikes

Leave a Reply

